Show all info regardless research infrastructures. Switch to CLARIN environment and show only relevant info to CLARIN, e.g. format recommendations by CLARIN centres. Switch to Text+ environment and show only relevant info to Text+, e.g. format recommendations by Text+ centres. Switch to DARIAH environment and show only relevant info to DARIAH, e.g. format recommendations by DARIAH centres.
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

W3C stands for the World Wide Web Consortium. It is an international standards organization for the World Wide Web, which was founded in October 1994 by Tim Berners-Lee at the MIT Laboratory for Computer Science in Cambridge (Massachusetts). W3C coordinates its work with many other standards organizations.

The work of the W3C is guided by two principles "Web for All" and "Web on Everything". That means that the web can be used by all users people regardless of whether the culture, education, ability, resources, and physical limitations. The web can also be used independently of hardware or software on all mobile devices.

One of the important work area in the W3C is the development of technical web specifications and guidelines such as HTML, XHTML and XML, which describes communication protocols and other building blocks of the Web. Nowadays there are over 90 standards, that W3C ranked as recommendations. Each W3C recommendation is developed (firstly from Working Draft to W3C Recommendation) by a work group consisting of members and invited experts, who are usually experts in the own field. The recommendations are a kind of technology suggestion providing documentation, rigorous stages of review, reformulation and implementation of a Web technology. All standards are free available online on the W3C website.

Specifications standardized by this body:
  1. Internationalization Tag Set
  2. XML Path Language
  3. Terse RDF Triple Language
  4. Resource Description Framework
  5. Simple Knowledge Organization System
  6. SPARQL Protocol and RDF Query Language
  7. XQuery: an XML Query Language
  8. Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations
  9. Extensible Markup Language
  10. eXtensible Markup Language Name Space
  11. RDF Vocabulary Description Language: RDF Schema
  12. RDF/XML Syntax Specification
  13. Web Ontology Language
  14. RDF Data Query Language
  15. Extensible Stylesheet Language Formatting Objects
  16. Semantic Web Rule Language Combining OWL and RuleML
  17. XML Schema